top of page

Easter reflection


The message which left the most impact on me this year was Archbishop’s reflection for Maundy Thursday, when he spoke about how forgiveness lay at the heart of Jesus’ decision to wash his disciples’ feet. How Jesus had known his disciples so well that he knew they would abandon him, but had chosen to forgive them before they had even committed that sin. This powerful image helped make the Last Supper more real to me, as a meal Jesus had had with friends he loved (even Judas). It was also a reassuring example of how Jesus understands us, better than we understand ourselves, and yet continues to forgive us.

In contrast, I didn’t quite feel the hope and renewal of the Easter celebrations, as much as I wanted to. Although I always enjoy the rousing hymns and feel a sense of anticipation for a ‘new life’, most of this positivity fades away the moment I return to work on Monday. Perhaps it’s because I am burdened by my sins, fears and inability to completely trust

God. Perhaps it’s also because we usually focus more on how we can prepare for Easter, through our Lenten resolutions, than on what we do after Easter Sunday itself – which makes it hard for me to sustain the ‘Easter mood’.

In light of these reflections, I thought I would try to do some of my own ‘Easter resolutions’, at least till Pentecost:

  • Read Archbishop’s daily scripture reflections - to improve my understanding of the Resurrection

  • Practise the Examen prayer as regularly as possible – to continue my (not very successful) Lenten resolution to pray more

Hopefully these actions will make the Resurrection more real to me, and help maintain my awareness that God is with me during Lent, at Easter, and always.


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page